"Why doesn't Manacube update to later versions of Minecraft?"

Ratings
I really want to use honey blocks in my maps, so I asked in the server chat if Manacube was ever going to update to later versions of Minecraft. I was told that updating the server to current versions of Minecraft would make some parkour maps impossible, due to changes in the physics. But everything feels the same as it always has. I'm no parkour expert, but I can't name any kind of jump that would be possible in 1.8 but impossible in 1.16. I also saw someone mention something about the x-axis. So I have a few questions.

1. How have Minecraft physics changed, and how would that cause some maps to become impossible?
2. What other issues would updating the server cause?
3. Is it possible that there are solutions to any of these these problems?

anxi

Forum Legend
ELITE
sunflowerv6
sunflowerv6
ELITE
Ratings
994 38
Hi! I believe it’s the height of the players that make the most difference. I’m fairly certain players are taller in 1.16, and I’m sure you noticed crouching is different too. (There is also the swimming/crawling mechanic.)
Plugins have to be considered as well - some are not compatible with certain versions. I’m not really sure what would happen if the server updates with incompatible plugins, but I’m assuming performance would decrease, as well as the stability.
I don’t know too much about this but I can imagine if a solution is figured out, it will be implimented.
Hope this helped answer some of your questions!

Ratings